Metamorphosis and Alpine Splendor Andris Poga conducts the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra-The 17th Beijing Music Festival

2014-10-09 19:30 - 21:00

Metamorphosis and Alpine Splendor Andris Poga conducts the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra-The 17th Beijing Music Festival

When: 9 Oct. 2014, thuesday 19:30
Where: Beijing Poly Theatre

Metamorphosis and Alpine Splendor Andris Poga conducts the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra

⇒跨越巅峰 安德里斯·波嘉指挥慕尼黑爱乐乐团-第十七届北京国际音乐节开幕音乐会

The 17th Beijing Music Festival 2014 proudly welcomes Maestro Andris Poga and the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. This wonderful opening program, entirely dedicated to the music of Richard Strauss, simultaneously explores the bestial depths of humanity along side the splendor of the Alpine Landscape.

While still a student in Latvian Academy of Music, Andris Poga took part in the master classes ofconductors including Mariss Jansons, Seiji Ozawa and Leif Segerstam. In May 2010, he is also awarded with the First Prize of the Evgeny Svetlanov International Conducting Competition in Montpellier. After thissuccess, Andris Poga is nominated in 2011 assistant conductor of Paavo Järvi at the Orchestre de Paris for three years and in 2012, assistant conductor of the Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO concert series andthe prestigious Tanglewood Festival). In September and December 2013, Andris Poga replaced Maestros George Prêtre and Mikko Franck at the Salle Pleyel with Orchestre de Paris. He had a tremendous success, performing works of Poulenc, Tchaikovsky 5th and Shostakovich 7th Symphonies. Since the 1st November 2013, Andris Poga is the Musical director of the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra for 3years.

The opening concert of the 17th Beijing Music Festival 2014 brings you one of the most moving instrumental compositions by Richard Strauss. Subtitled "a study for 23 strings," Metamorphosen was supposed lyinspired by the utter destruction of Strauss's hometown of Munich by allied bombers in 1945. Yet Strauss was not merely mourning the destruction of a city, he was probing for the causes of waritself. Prominent scholars have suggested, "Straussinverted the classical concept of metamorphosis as a process towards divinity, and focused insteadon humanities dangerous potential to indulge the bestial nature of humankind." Strauss even included atelling yet painfully ironic quotation from Beethoven's Eroica Symphony. For some prominent listeners, the Metamorphosen are possibly the saddest piece of music ever written. In stark contrast to this musical exploration of the darker side of humanity, the Alpine Symphony takes you on awondrous spatial journey through the majestic beauty of the Bavarian Alps. Completed in 1915, it calls for an unprecedented 140-player orchestra, including off stage brass. Although this tone poem has clear philosophical roots, the 24-hour ascent and descent of an Alpine mountain unfolding in twenty-three continuous sections ofmusic, triumphantly proclaims the startling beauty and glories of the natural world. The Alpine Symphony is performed in one continuous movement, yet a distinct program describes each phase of the Alpine journey in chronological order. Strauss is able to create astrong sense of structure by using magnificent musical pictorials and a detailed and progressive narrative. Don't miss this exciting opportunity to experience thee motionally rich and probing interpretations of Mr. Andris Poga, and the luscious and lavish sounds capeproduced by the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra.


Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
Andris Poga, Conductor


Metamorphosen: study for 23 Solo Strings, subtitled by "Inmemoriam", TrV. 290, AV. 142, 1945
Eine Alpensinfonie: for the large orchestra, tone poem, TrV. 233, Op. 64, 1915


Price: 80/120/180/880RMB
Tel: 010-65001188
Add: Dongcheng District, Dongzhimen South Avenue 14, Beijing


Javascript is required to view this map.

北京文艺生活  上海文艺生活  广州文艺生活 台北文艺生活  香港文艺生活  澳門文艺生活 深圳文艺生活  杭州文艺生活  成都文艺生活 西安文艺生活  重庆文艺生活  南京文艺生活






Online NBA

Tiffany Diamond Promise

好戏网 MASK9