Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra - Bergen International Festival 2014

2014-05-27 19:30 - 21:25

Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra - Bergen International Festival 2014

When: 27 May 2014 Tue 19:30 - 21:25
Where: Håkonshallen

Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra

Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra


Former students of the Franz Liszt music academy in Budapest founded the Hungarian Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra in 1963. The 18 musicians have created a solid international reputation through concerts in more than 50 countries. This is the first time the chamber orchestra performs in Norway.

We are very happy to meet the Norwegian audience after fifty years. We have travelled quite extensively in Europe and elsewhere and now we are looking forward to our concert in Bergen and to the challenge of playing Grieg there. A first encounter is always very important so Grieg, the outstanding figure of Romanticism, was an obvious choice. We have been playing the Holberg Suite for quite a long time, but it will be quite a different experience to play it in the town and country where he was born. In fact, I am very curious to see and hear the reactions to our interpretation, says Janos Rolla, artistic director since 1979.

The Holberg Suite practically defined the rest of the program, says Rolla: Tchaikovsky is also a great figure of Romanticism even though he has Slavic, or to be more exact, had Russian roots, whereas Grieg had been more inspired by the German romantics. We know about his connections with Wagner and Liszt. Moreover, Grieg was much more accurate, he wrote down very detailed instructions not leaving too much room for interpretation. However, my real favourite on the program is Dvořák. He also has a Slavic soul but, while Tchaikovsky is more well-known and popular, he is more sensitive, more sophisticated and honest.


Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra
Janos Rolla artistic director
Laszlo Fenyo cello


EDVARD GRIEG (1843 - 1907)
From Holberg's Time (Suite in Old Style), "The Holberg Suite", op. 4

Farewell to Count Rasumoffsky, "The Razumovsky Trilogy"

FERENC FARKAS (1905 - 2000)
Concertino all'antica for cello & strings


Pezzo capriccioso in B minor for cello and orchestra, op. 62

ANTONÍN DVORÁK (1841 - 1904)
Serenade for Strings in E major, op. 22


- Introduction by Gunnar Danbolt at 18:45.


Tickets: Kr400 Full price / Kr350 Senior / Kr150 Under 30 years
Tel: 0047-55210630
Add: Bergenhus Festning, Bergen, Norway
Official Website: Bergen International Festival 2014


*Information provided by Bergen International Festival



北京文艺生活  上海文艺生活  广州文艺生活 台北文艺生活  香港文艺生活  澳門文艺生活 深圳文艺生活  杭州文艺生活  成都文艺生活 西安文艺生活  重庆文艺生活  南京文艺生活







Tiffany Diamond Promise

好戏网 MASK9